Ready for Cancellation

It’s taken me awhile to put together a recrap of the third episode of the live-doll reality show Ready for Love. 

Rumors swirled that the show had been cancelled, but then executive producer Eva Longoria took to Twitter, saying it is moving to a new time, new night. Tim-something of The Plain White T’s joined the fray saying “Please download my song from iTunes.”

And then I had to deal with my own feelings of despair over the knowledge that I actually wasted moments of my life reading inane tweets and articles on E!

But here we are again, ready-for-lovers!

We begin our “journey” with Tim’s “journey.” Tim is referred to as “rock star” ad nauseum. That’s like calling Snooki, author of the turdpile Confessions of a Guidette, a literary giant.

Bret Michaels, another dude looking for televised love by examining multiple vaginas, is a rock star. Yes, he wears a bandana hairpiece and plays amusement park gigs, but he was a legitimate rock star 25 years ago in that shit band Poison. Tim’s band The Plain White T’s had one hit song. The Fruit of the Loom guys are more recognizable. I don’t know why I’m getting all worked up about this. The important thing is that I have wasted so much of my life and will die with regrets.

Tim plans an unannounced visit to his poon palace at 6 a.m. He jumps on the women’s beds and surprisingly is not kneed in the nuts. He wants them to leave the house sans make up (the horror!!!!). They do, and society comes crashing to a halt. They arrive at a spa, and it’s filled with all things the girlies love like make-up, shoes and transvaginal ultrasounds.

Taonayanayanaya is bummed because she has not engaged in any one-on-one time with Tim. When she gets her chance, she tells Tim he is like a book with all the pages stuck together, which sounds kinda gross. Tim’s expression indicates he feels the same. Awkward silence after his reply: “That’s interesting.” She clumsily moves onto “What’s your sign?” Tim dismisses with “I don’t believe in any of that.”

tonyana

Taonynayanaya breaks down sobbing in the bathroom, wailing “I’ve been through so much!” That’s an Aquarius for you.

She ends up getting the boot at the rose garden ceremony. Lots of nonsense about “journeys” and “connections” and “this is the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do™” blather.

sohardNext up is Ernesto’s journey. One of the women, Olivia, keeps crying and saying she wants to leave. Another gets brownie points from the producers by saying “She is not ready for love.”

Olivia meets with Tracy the matchmaker, and talks about her disdain of drama and negative energy even though she has been the main cause of drama and negative energy. Tracy mentions how this show is a process. I thought it was a journey. I’m so fucking confused.

Before she leaves, Olivia engages in crying fit in the living room.

meltdown

She goes, and it would mean so much more if there weren’t 5,000 other people on this show so I will just leave it at “smell you later.”

Ernesto is having the women get dolled up for a fashion show because this show is trying to get into the Guinness Book of World Records for having the most gender stereotypes in one television episode. The producers fly his sister in from Milan to go undercover as a style assistant to see what the women have to say about her brother. Erica treats Ernesto’s sister like something on the bottom of her shoe.

bitchyericaErica tries to say she did not know why she acted like that because she normally has sunshine streaming out of her ass. At the slave auction garden ceremony, Erica is saved and some woman whose name escapes me is tearfully sent home. Cheer up, nameless person, you’ve actually won.

Ben is third, but wins first place in douchery. The show continues its dress-up theme because that’s all the ladies want, right? We want to be pinched into 14-inch heels, stuffed into sausage casings, covered in greasepaint and judged by Us Weekly. Ben salsas and presses his groin and lips against the women. His ex-girlfriend Kari is getting pissed and asks him to refrain from being a “lip slut.”

kariMatt asks Beth, whom he refers to as “mature” (translation: old), why she is still single. She counters: “Why are you?”

Ben answers: “Because I was in the middle east for four years, duh.” (translation: “I ain’t marrying no middle-eastern person because my brain is full-on douche.”)

Ben lip-sluts it up all over town. The matchmakers send the other women to their pods–one actually refers to it as such–while they grill Kari about her intentions. This is as exciting as the time I did laundry.

confrontationBen decides to send home the single mother with this chestnut:

benchopsI don’t know about you, but I am ready for cancellation.

26 comments

  1. I will be ever-pissed if this show is the only thing people think about when you say “Ready for Love,” because if we lose this to that program, then our civilization will be much, much poorer place:

  2. I have no freaking idea what the hell TV show this is about, or who any of the people in it are, but I read every word with unadulterated glee.

    “The important thing is that I have wasted so much of my life and will die with regrets.”

    Brill.

  3. Bahahaha – I love love love your posts! “‘shit band Poison,” “that’s an aquarius for you,” “the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do™” blather,” “because this show is trying to get into the Guinness Book of World Records for having the most gender stereotypes in one television episode”….Oh I can’t quote anymore – I’m laughing so hard my pancreas is hurting. You’re my hero.

    1. Apparently she has been connected with Ernesto in the tabloids, but she has denied it via Twitter. Holy fucking christ, did I just write that sentence?!?

  4. Seriously? The guy from Plain White T’s is a “rock star”? I admit that I watched all of Rock of Love (both seasons) even though I hate Poison and don’t find Bret Michaels even remotely attractive. But at least I’d know who he was if he passed me on the street.

    Meanwhile, my dear, I think we need to stage an intervention here. I’m worried about your soul, watching all of these shows. I’ll speak to Hugo about this further.

    1. I will freely admit my giddy love of Rock of Love. It was actually three seasons, the last season involved one “lady” drinking a shot out of another “lady’s” crotch. Poetry.

      I might need an intervention. This shite is now offered on NBC.com, and I actually watched it yesterday. What is wrong with me?!?!?

Leave a Reply

